Day 3 with the enV Touch – Possible hack?

So, once again I found myself exploring my phone’s features whilst bored (this time while at work… I think the company actually lost money today just from paying two of us to stay there from 4-11). I found some interesting things.

Let me just start by saying this: in no way, shape, form, or fashion do I endorse piracy. I’m with the crowd that, if you appreciate good software, then you should be willing to pay the person that designed it.

However, homebrew will always exist as long as there are new devices and the internet to go with them. Using a tip from The enV Touch Community I took a glance at my phone’s programming menu. This is done by dialing ##PROGRAM11000 (##776472611000) and using all zeroes as the service code.

Once inside, I cannot stress this enough: BE VERY CAREFUL ABOUT WHAT YOU CHANGE IN THIS MENU! You can easily make it to where your phone will become semi-bricked or even fully bricked. I take no responsibility for you messing things up within this menu. General piece of advice: if you don’t know what something means, leave it alone!

In the service menu, option 6 is Media Center Settings. In the IP/URL field, there are two web addresses. These are apps.myvzw.com and apps2.myvzw.com. It is my belief that, if someone were to set up a website which offered homebrew apps built for the enV Touch, that these addresses could be changed and we would be able to download free apps for this phone developed by its users.

If anyone decides to undertake the task of figuring things out past this, or if you’re just generally interested in the homebrew scene for this phone, please comment here or Follow and @ me on Twitter so that I may follow the progress and keep the public posted. I’m even willing to be a beta tester, and could maybe help out a little bit on design. Also, I’d highly encourage anyone with the enV Touch to sign up at www.envtouch.org and keep a check on those forums as well.

I’d still like to see BitPim support for the enV Touch as well.

Well, that’s pretty much it for this post. I’ll close out with a list of Apps I’d like to see for the enV Touch:

  • Twitter
  • Upload Videos to Youtube
  • Upload Pics to Myspace, Photobucket, etc.
  • Perhaps an FLV player for sites other than Youtube (ie Hulu)
  • Save pics from Websites to phone memory or SD card
  • Guess that’s it for now. Later days!

    ~ by chadanthony07 on July 13, 2009.

    One Response to “Day 3 with the enV Touch – Possible hack?”

    1. I’m an experienced developer; I also own an Env Touch. I want to pool resources with Env Touch developers to develop free apps. Count me in. Please seen my response comment of today on the env forum to the old post http://www.envtouch.org/discussion/49/custom-apps-lets-try-it/#Item_6
      And feel free to email me.

    Leave a Reply

         
